Skip to content

Sunday Scribblings

June 1, 2008

Curves––those lovely little rounded lines… They exist all around us. The rolling hills of the Shenandoah Valley. My coffee table––the circular piece of wood made of two curves (or arcs as you may like to call them).

Many of us might think of a woman’s body, the fluid curves of her rounded hips, calling out to a man as she swings them while walking down the street… And how does she feel about these curves? Depending on who you ask (or what culture you ask), that person loves them or hates them.

Here in America, these curves are scorned upon. The media shows alluring persons that look like mere stick figures. I’m not saying that that particular person is not beautiful…because she is––just in a different way. The people of Latin America, from what I’ve heard anyway, do not show such disdain upon these beautiful rounded lines. For this I am thankful, and for this, I sometimes wish I could move to that part of the world.

It’s unfortunate that in this country of freedom, we cannot be free from the pressure of how to look. Thanks, Hollywood, for giving us that unrealistic view…

I, with my curves, am starting to love myself again. Because no matter how much I exercise or how well I eat, I will have beautiful curves, and my husband will love me for it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2008 5:09 pm

    Google search Sue Tilley a painting of her went for 33 million dollars and man she has more curves than most! I do think it’s natural to be attracted to curves. Otherwise why would so many have them? Great post.

  2. June 1, 2008 6:17 pm

    Bring on the curves I say!! Really enjoyed your piece.

  3. June 1, 2008 7:38 pm

    this post is a love story – and i loved it!!!

  4. June 1, 2008 8:18 pm

    Nicely said!

Leave a Reply

