Skip to content

Oh those quiet nights…

June 7, 2008

I sit surrounded by flowers after a 10 hour workday. But these flowers are not surrounded by soil. I am on my couch–oh, the “shabby chic” couch. I am eating a grilled pork tenderloin (rubbed with TexJoy seasoning) sided with mashed potatoes and green beans… Depending on the night, we are watching a picking of TV shows while curled up next to each other. Less frequently, we are stimulating our minds by reading the books of our choosing.

I enjoy these nights immensely. During the commercials we talk, catching up on each other’s days–finding out what was interesting at work that particular day. Interestingly enough, I learn so much about him (and sometimes myself) during these breaks from fiction… I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2008 8:58 pm

    A very nice slice of sanity. Someone once asked Otto and me why, after more than sixty years (67 by now) of marriage, we still found so much to say to each other. And to think that it would take another sixty years for us to get it all said! Your grilled pork tenderloin sounds delicious!

  2. June 7, 2008 10:49 pm

    I totally understand and love those kinds of nights. We always laugh when people say, “You need to have a date night each week!” We have many date nights each week, unwinding and catching up during commercials.

  3. June 8, 2008 7:09 am

    Those sound like wonderful nights. Treasure them.

  4. June 8, 2008 7:53 am

    Very sweet – I think that as long as you never run out of things to say to one another you will never be bored and restless with one another. Also, you should invite us all over for dinner as I agree with Granny Smith, the pork chop sounds delicious!

  5. June 8, 2008 7:53 am

    You paint such a restful and peaceful scene. (And, now, I’m starving!)

  6. June 8, 2008 9:21 am

    It’s those simple moments in life that are the most meaningful…you captured one of your “moments” so beautifully.

  7. June 8, 2008 4:26 pm

    Ah, that is so nice! Total contentment.

Leave a Reply

