Skip to content

Guiding me softly…

June 15, 2008

(in honor of Father’s Day)

The aisle is carpeted with red. My makeup is freshly reapplied after crying most of it off earlier. The bridesmaids are out the door–arm in arm with the boys. Moments pass and I hear the fanfare of trumpets. It’s our turn. You ask, “Are you ready?” I smile and nod, content that the day has finally come. The wooden and leather doors open, and everyone in the pews rise, waiting for their glimpse of the girl marrying her love. You guide me, gently, so that I don’t trip or catch my dress as the aisle is narrow and my dress is not. The time has come to hand me off to him. You kiss me on the cheek and take your seat with Mom.

I’m sure a thousand memories flooded your head that day–you after all, have been my guide from the start… You spent many hours running after my bike after guiding me first then letting me go–only to run after me and pick me up again. Your computer knowledge has guided me many a time–from helping me with KidPix to figuring out how much memory I would need to upgrade my system.

So, in short, Dad, I thank you for being that guide for so many years. You now have a daughter that will be able to hopefully guide her own children in the future using you as her example 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2008 2:15 pm

    brought me a memory and a tear – thank you!!!

  2. June 16, 2008 11:00 pm

    nice father’s day piece.

  3. June 18, 2008 2:45 pm

    You are one of the lucky ones, as was I, in having a wonderful loving father who could helpfully and gently guide. This is beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

