Skip to content

Bonnie's Chicken Tenders

August 16, 2009

I guess I get to call this my first recipe. There are the basics: dredging, dipping in egg, then coating with breadcrumbs… But the spices. Oh, the spices! They added just a little kick to the tenders, but the spices were not overwhelming.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 pound chicken tenders
  • All-purpose flour
  • Paprika (sweet or hot? you decide!)
  • Poultry seasoning
  • 2 eggs
  • One spoonful dijon mustard
  • Japanese panko
  • Toasted breadcrumbs
  • 3 tablespoons Olive oil (more as needed)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Several dishes to dip chicken in (I used a loaf pan, a large bowl, and a casserole dish… it’s what I have!)

In your first dish, cover the bottom with the all-purpose flour. Sprinkle paprika & poultry seasoning over the top of the flour and mix together. In your second dish, whisk eggs and dijon mustard together. In the last dish, cover bottom with panko and breadcrumbs tossed together.

L to R: Chicken, Flour, Eggs, Panko

L to R: Chicken, Flour, Eggs, Panko

Coat all tenderloins with flour mixture, egg mixture and panko mixture (in that order, please!), and place on plate until ready to fry.

Dredging the Chicken

Dredging the Chicken

Dipping Chicken in Mustardy Eggs

Dipping Chicken in Mustardy Eggs

Coating in Panko

Coating in Panko

Heat olive oil in sauté pan over medium heat. Depending on how big your pan is, place 3-4 tenders in pan (no crowding!). Cook for 2.5-3 minutes on each side until center is no longer pink and juices run clear (you can also use a meat thermometer). Use more olive oil for each batch if needed until all tenders are cooked.

IMG_1326_2

Place tenders on paper towels to drain. Immediately salt and pepper each side of the tenders (S&P has a tendency to stick better when things are fresh out of oil). Enjoy!!

Yum!

Yum!

I’m not quite sure I’ll be buying premade chicken tenders or nuggets ever again. These were so easy to make, and I knew exactly what the ingredients were (hello, pink ice cream chicken! EW!). P and I thoroughly enjoyed these and I’m certain they’ll be on the menu again soon 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. emily227 permalink
    August 16, 2009 10:09 pm

    Yum….I love chicken tenders! I’ve never tried to make them on my own, but these look really good. I might have to try them soon.

  2. thecookingnurse permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:22 am

    These look tasty!

  3. August 28, 2009 6:48 am

    These look yummy ! I should try them … they have my name on them !! 🙂

    • Lis*De*Dieu permalink*
      August 30, 2009 12:20 pm

      They do have your name on them, which is also my name (I’m sure you figured that out already)! Yay for Bonnies!

Leave a Reply

