Skip to content

Hot Cocoa Cake in a Mug

September 6, 2009

Cake in a mug! This is one of my favorite desserts for which I usually have everything on hand. But somehow I don’t have any cocoa in the house right now (did I throw it out in the move? I can’t remember!). I headed to Google to see if I could find any other recipe than my usual, and I found this particular recipe. It makes a VERY dense bread-like cake. I used a Creme Brulee hot cocoa mix. Two packets of this mix came out nearly to 9 tablespoons, so that is something I can remember for future hot cocoa cakes!

IMG_5367


Hot Cocoa Chocolate Cake (in a Mug) – adapted from www.wikihow.com

Ingredients:

  • 9 tablespoons (2 packets) Land O’ Lakes Creme Brulee Hot Cocoa Mix
  • 4 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • Pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Mix dry ingredients together in large mug.
  2. Add wet ingredients and stir with spoon. Fold ingredients from bottom, making sure to incorporate ALL dry ingredients.
  3. Microwave for 3 minutes (more or less depending on wattage).
  4. Enjoy straight from mug, or turn out into bowl and garnish with a topping of your choice!
Cooking in the Microwave

Cooking in the Microwave

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 5:54 pm

    This is definitely going to come in handy during the cooler months when I just want something sweet, fast!

Leave a Reply

