Skip to content

Intimidating, you say?

November 3, 2009

Well, I think otherwise.

I started my morning off with a bang by visiting my OB’s office for my regular 2 week checkup (2 more of these–then every week… Where does the time go?). At this particular office, we have to make the rounds through all of the doctors in case mine is not available when the time for delivery comes.

A while back, I had heard that the doctor I was seeing today was “intimidating,” and that a lot of women did not care for him because of his bedside manner. Because of these preconceived notions, I tried to put off an appointment with him for as long as possible, i.e. today. As you might imagine, I heard a knock on the door and expected to see a grumpy older man come in and greet me. Not so! A relatively young doctor came through the door with a beaming smile on his face and greeted me sincerely by introducing himself and asking how I was doing. We went through my chart, he asked if I had any questions–and answered them succinctly, but thoroughly. The rest of the appointment was normal stuff–fundal height and heartbeat. He seemed to be genuinely interested in my and my unborn child.

So, I’m wondering where all the almost-hostility towards him is coming from. Is it from women who have him as their gynecologist? Or maybe he had a bad day one time? But whatever it was, I did NOT get a feeling of intimidation from this particular doctor, and I’m very happy about that. I feel 100% comfortable with all of the doctors at my practice and look forward to having any one of them guide me through this awesome stage of my husband’s and my life!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 12:02 am

    I had a similar incident with my fertility doctor. Everyone says he has a really bad bedside manner. Aside from his really really dry sense of humor he seemed genuinely concerned about me and all that was going on. I wondered the same thing, where people were coming up with their preconceived ideas of him?

Leave a Reply

