Skip to content

My Favorite Things… (Fall Edition)

November 5, 2009

The scents of autumn–the warmth and the spice call out to me every year. I don’t think it would matter what the temperature was (Virginia or Texas); the coziness has always been there in the scents of apples, cinnamon, pumpkin, and crisp, cool air (much more cool now that we live in Virginia).

The aromas of Thanksgiving especially throw me back to when I was younger, spending the day at the grandparents’ house. My parents alternated which set we would go to every year, so one year we were visiting my mom’s parents a couple hours away and another year we would be across town at my dad’s parents house. Either way, the comfort was still there–in the smells of the turkey, sweet potatoes, green bean casseroles, and the desserts.

Oh, the desserts! Just thinking about pumpkin, custard, and pecan pie (three separate pies, not mixed all together–just in case you were wondering) makes me a little giddy! When I was a child, I would watch whomever had the task of making these delicious treats very carefully in hopes that one day I would get to help. Now that we live roughly one thousand miles away, I alone have this task. More than likely, you will find pecan and custard pie at our little holiday festivities, but not pumpkin, even though I love it very much. I just think 3 pies between the two of is a little much, and since pumpkin is my least favorite of the three choices, it gets thrown to the wayside, sadly. Instead, I burn my pumpkin pie candle to savor the scent of what could be.

Yes, most definitely the aromas of fall are my favorite thing about this time of year. When my nose starts getting whiffs of all the different flavors of fall, I know that my favorite time of the year has begun, and this means that it hopefully soon will start snowing….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

